Greendale Board of Health

Board of Health



Board of Health Members

Ashley Haas MPA, BSN, RN Public Health Director ahaas@greendale.org 2021-
Ronald Barbian Trustee Representative rbarbian@greendale.org 2022-2023
Mary Jean Green BA Community Member mjgreen@wi.rr.com 2020-2023
Kim Price BSN, RN Community Member kprice70@wi.rr.com 2022-2025
Kim Krueger RN Community Member kkrueger11@wi.rr.com 2021-2024
Thomas Slota MD Community Member thomasslota@gmail.com 2022-2023
Muddassir Mohiuddin, DPT, PT   Community Member mmohiuddin@tahcares.com 2022-2025
Joleen Brewer, MSN, APNP Community Member joleen.brewer@rogersbh.org 2020-2023
Guy Ouellette Community Member   2022-2025
Ali Siddiqui, MD Medical Advisor- Ex-Officio ali.siddiqui@froedtert.com  

2022 Board of Health Resources and Other Topics

What is a Local Board of Health and What Do They Do? 2022
Greendale Health Department Brochure 2022

We have access to an abundance of health-related information at the tips of our fingers, but it can be hard to find the right resources you're looking for and it can be difficult to decipher scientific phrases and acronyms, or determine if someone is providing false information.  The Village of Greendale Board of Health will share relevant information from reliable sources and will strive to help residents and stakeholders have a better understanding about our community's health!
 

Health Literacy 
Health literacy means "the degree to which individuals have the capacity to obtain, process, and understand basic information and services needed to make appropriate decisions regarding their health" (Institute of Medicine).  Wisconsin Health Literacy also gives an explanation of what health literacy is; "health literacy is the use of a wide range of skills that improve the ability of people to act on information in order to live healthier lives.  These skills include reading, writing, listening, speaking, critical thinking, as well as interaction and communication skills".

-  Literacy skills can be the strongest predictor of health status.
-  It can vary over time, depending on a person's health status, medications, or emotional state.  
-  Everyone is likely to experience low health literacy at some point in their lives.

The CDC health literacy website provides information and tools to improve health literacy and public health. These resources are for all organizations that interact and communicate with people about health

Health Information Translations

Multilingual health information materials in many languages, including some American Sign Language resources.

Multi-cultural and refugee information for both patients and health care professionals in many languages. Includes videos, audio files and documents. Compiled by the National Library of Medicine with a searchable database.

Surgeon General's Advisory on Building a Healthy Information Environment 
During the COVID-19 pandemic, people have been exposed to a great deal of information; news, public health guidance, fact sheets, research, opinions, rumors and more.  Amid all of this information, many people have also been exposed to health misinformation or disinformation: false, inaccurate, or misleading according to the best available evidence at the time.

Community Toolkit for Addressing Health Misinformation
We have the power to shape our information environment, but we must use that power together.  This resource is here to provide a set of tools for you to understand, identify, and stop misinformation, and help others do the same. 

Is This Legit? Accessing Valid and Reliable Health Information 
Applying skills in analyzing, evaluating, and comparing different sources of health information empowers teens to reject misinformation and make choices to access content that is evidence-based and supports their overall health and wellbeing.3 Teens get messages about drugs and alcohol from the news media and social media, as well as their peers, families, and extended social networks.4,5 Health literacy can play a role in how teens interpret messages about alcohol and other substances, and can shape their expectations about what may happen if they consume drugs and alcohol.6